Driving under the influence is one of the worst things that drivers can do. This is because it endangers not only the impaired motorist but other people on the road as well. The current legal name for this crime in Ohio is Operating a Vehicle Impaired (OVI), and it can be one of the most expensive crimes to be convicted of.
When someone is convicted of OVI, a number of things happen, and a fine is typically mandated. The Hubbard Township Police state that the fine for a first offense can be between $250 and $1,000, while the fine for second and third offenses can be anywhere from $350 to $1,500. Someone who is convicted of their fourth OVI can expect to be fined no less than $800, and as much as $10,000.
When someone’s driver’s license is suspended, it costs money to get it reinstated. There is a timeline for reinstatement depending on how many OVI convictions someone has on record. The Ohio BMV states that reinstating a license after an OVI suspension will cost $475.
Other fines and costs
While the above costs are straightforward, there are a lot of other costs that many people don’t think of at first glance. Any OVI conviction will usually result in the driver being required to take a Driver Intervention Program, which will have its own associated costs.
In addition to court fees, jail time or probation are also typically rather expensive. All things being considered, the cumulative cost of an OVI conviction can hold someone back for a considerable amount of time.